

September 27, 2010

Notice to Parties to the DeBeers Gahcho Kue Diamond Mine Environmental Impact Review (EIR) 0607-001

Under the authority of the *Mackenzie Valley Resources Management Act* (MVRMA) the Mackenzie Valley Review Board (Review Board) has reconsidered the panel composition and is changing the membership of the Gahcho Kue Environmental Impact Review Panel.

Pursuant to section 132 of the *MVRMA*, the Review Board has the authority to appoint members to and change the composition of an environmental impact review panel. Section 132 also requires that more than one panel member be a current Review Board member.

The Gahcho Kue environmental impact review was ordered by the Board more than four years ago. Shortly thereafter, the Review Board appointed a panel that met the requirements of its obligations under the *MVRMA*. The proponent, De Beers Canada Inc., has yet to file its Environmental Impact Statement, so no hearings by the current panel have been held.

Since the Gahcho Kue Panel was first appointed, the Review Board's membership has changed substantially due to expiry of member's terms and appointment of new members. As a result, there is no longer the core of current Board members on the Gahcho Kue Panel that had been intended by the Board when the Panel was first established. Only one current Review Board member remains on the Gahcho Kue panel. In light of budgetary restraints, the Review Boar d also has concerns about the costs required to maintain a seven-member panel.

Accordingly, the Review Board is reducing the number of Gahcho Kue Panel members to five. The five members will now all be Review Board members. The Review Board's view is that a smaller panel can be more efficient and cost effective. A reasons for decision document explaining this change in Panel composition is attached.

Further to this decision, I can advise that current Review Board members Richard Mercredi, Rachel Crapeau, James Wah-Shee and Peter Bannon have been appointed to the Gahcho Kue Panel replacing the out-going members. Review Board member and previous Panel member Darryl Bohnet has been appointed Chairperson of the Panel.

The Review Board wishes to express its sincere appreciation to outgoing Panel members Gabrielle Mackenzie-Scott (former Panel Chair), John Stevenson, John Ondrack, Leslie Allen, Nora Doig and Jim Villeneuve for their good work on the Panel and the sound foundation they have established for the Gahcho Kue EIR proceeding to continue.

Richard Edjericon

Chairperson

Attachment (1)